Elena from Asturias, Spain

“I am a feminist Scorpio with a big heart who loves deep chats, healing, organic and vegetarian food, people, natural building, mountains, forests, foraging and the river. I am a single woman working on renovating a stone cabin alone in the mountains. I am working to eventually become a therapist / counsellor.

I visited the ecocommunity @freeandreal in 2017 in Greece where they practiced permaculture then spent 1 year volunteering on workaway projects in Asturias where I learned how to do it.

I started on my food growing journey to save money, for pleasure, for an amazing reason to be out in nature, to learn about plants and the earth, to live according to how I would like the world to be.

I live in a small village called pueblo in Asturias, in northwest Spain. I have a steep garden behind my house and a large stretch of allotment at the front of the village which are both around 400 square meter. I follow No dig method and always keep the compost going layered with green and brown organic matter. then topping up the soil like with it.

I grow everything that I can. Potatoes, corn, tomatoes, peppers, beetroot, onions, garlic, chayote, flowers, leeks, amaranth, cucumbers, courgettes, aubergine, cabbage, kale, mustard, beans, squash, spinach, chillis, physalis.

Never knowing how it’s going to turn out and what’s going to be the best harvest is the most exciting part. I also love spending time in the sun and learning new things all the time.

I cofounded a local permaculture group that helps members with their gardens and house projects as well as childcare, sharing knowledge and seeds, which has since attracted other people to live here. I would say even if you might not be around to see it bloom, still plant a flower seed.”